RSS Feed

Nostalgia Saturdays

Since I have so many projects from the past, way before this blog was even thought of, I would like to share a few of them. So Saturdays shall be nostalgia days, days to remember the projects of yore, at least until I run out of things to reminisce about.

This all started when Will, former classmate and awesome friend, and I were dumpster diving at the end of the school year. You would be surprised what rich freshman throw away, like a whole set of unused acrylics, the kind in the huge squeeze bottles. But I digress, I found these mirrors in the trash. I guess they were cleaning out old offices too or something.

Pardon the quality, I had to snatch if from my Facebook, as the original is lost in the ether of my computer.

There were two of them, and they were a very ugly bronze color. (Which I don’t have any pictures of, don’t know what I was thinking.)When I found them, I almost left them, they were pretty icky. But once I took them home and cleaned them up, they just screamed to be teal, and of course you should always listen to the voices inside old objects.

Fast forward to sometime later, and I was out thrifting with Will, and we came across these eagle lamps. I can’t remember which thrift store it was cause we frequented many in the greater Philly area. They were originally the color on the left.

Again stolen from my Facebook. I really need to organize my photos.

I don’t have a thing for eagles, but I did think it was awesome that they matched my mirrors, so they came home with me. I think they were like $3-4 a piece. So as you can see I painted one of them red. I have some Alexander Henry fabric I made a quilt out of that is my color inspiration for home decor. And the other became teal to match the mirrors.

Again, from Facebook

Now for the tragic part of the story. When we moved back to Utah, we were limited on space, and I made the horrible mistake of leaving my beloved lamps behind. So if anyone knows where to find kitschy eagle lamps, give me a call, I really miss them.

About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

Leave a Reply

