RSS Feed

It’s so fluffy!

Posted on

I’m gonna die! Not really, but it is pretty darn fluffy. The whole thing started when I was watching Despicable Me with my mom and sister. I love the scene with the unicorn, it is just such an awesome unicorn.

Fast forward to President’s Day weekend, when my sister and I went up to Logan to visit our friend Dani. An awesome yarn shop, Knit Unique, opened not too long ago, so of course we had to go there. I had been feeling a bit blah towards knitting recently. However, when I found this yarn, I just knew it needed to be made into the unicorn.

Seriously it's so fluffy.

It’s not really the right pink, but it is the right fluffy. So then I needed yarn for the body. This Lamb’s Pride yarn is pretty, soft and has a nice sheen to it, so I thought I would try it.

Wool and Mohair=pretty soft

But the twist was too tight, so it wasn’t really going with the fluffy idea. My Fishermen’s Wool however, is pretty soft and leaning towards fluffy. It just needed a bit more fluff. So I dug through the yarn stash and found this neat stuff.

(Man it is hard to get a decent photo of that yarn.) It is acrylic mohair I think, but either way, it adds that extra softness I was looking for. After looking around at patterns, I didn’t really find any I liked to make the unicorn, so I’m going to try my hand a making it up. Knitting Mochimochi has a good section on how to design toys, so that has been a great help. So hopefully I will have some progress photos soon. But trust me, it’s so fluffy I could die.

About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

2 responses »

  1. We are no longer going to felt this thing then huh?!

    Reply
  2. I don’t think so. The hedgehog pattern was just strange, so I decided to scrap that idea. The Fishermen’s wool and the mohair are quite nice as is, but felting it could be interesting. I’ll have to try a test swatch. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

