RSS Feed

Pomelo Orangeade

Posted on

Ask anyone who knows me, and they will tell you how easily I’m distracted, especially when shopping. So every time I sat down to write a recap of Friday and Saturday’s classes, I kept getting distracted by the idea of juice.

The only problem is that there isn’t any in this house. I finally decided to remedy this, because it was going to haunt me all day. Yes, I love juice that much. I didn’t want just lemonade, I needed something more orange based. I had found a recipe for Orangeade yesterday, so I decided to try that. Then I ran into a problem, we only have two oranges. That isn’t enough. But we do have a giant pomelo.

Problem solved. I put the oranges and pomelo in the blender, then strained the pulp out. I was feeling pretty pleased with myself, then I realized we don’t have any sugar.

After sitting there in a fog of sadness that I won’t get my juice after all that work, it suddenly it hits me. I made orange sugar the first time I made grapefruit cupcakes! We’re back in business. And there is just enough sugar. Then it is as simple as following the recipe.

The end result is something like pink grapefruitade. This may seem like a lot of effort for juice, but like I told my mom when we were making pretzel bites, the longer something takes the more rewarding it will be in the end. This was definitely one of those things.

Pomelo Orangeade adapted from Taylor Takes a Taste’ orangeade.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup orange sugar
  • 1 cup combined freshly squeezed orange and pomelo juice
  • 1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

Cooking Directions

  1. In a large pot over medium heat, dissolve cup of sugar into one cup of water. Stir until sugar is completely dissolved, creating a simple syrup. Turn heat to low.
  2. Add the 1 cup fresh squeezed juice and lemon juice to the simple syrup. Stir.
  3. Add 3 cups water. Remove from heat and stir.
  4. Pour into a serving container and keep refrigerated. Serve cold over ice.

 


About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

Leave a Reply

