RSS Feed

Leadermete continued or what I did last weekend.

Posted on

Last Friday and Saturday were a pretty good time. I’m sad I didn’t get more pictures of my class, but I was so busy running around helping people that I forgot. I did get a few pictures of some of the shirts. The only complaint was the class was too short, which I agree that it was.

I love this shirt because she did the front and the back. A few tried it, and they all turned out great!

I got to go to the world headquarters of Superior Threads before my class. I had never been before, it is a pretty cool place. They were nice enough to let me take some pictures while I was there.

The inside is about what you would expect of a warehouse. Lots of rows of awesome threads.

Got some of this to stitch up my Urban Threads octopus.

I love their fluorescent collection. So very bright.

Superior has this amazing thread called Texture Magic. When you steam iron it, the thread shrinks and puckers up the fabric. They used it on the crabs in this adorable quilt.

In the lobby, there are these beautiful hand embroidered kimonos.

After my class, mom and I went to our Wagon Wheel Rug class. We got there late unfortunately, but we still had plenty of time to work on it.

Everyone weaving away.

Mom got the hang of it after awhile. I most certainly did not. The wheel is actually a bicycle rim, not a wagon wheel, just so you know.

Mom's rug in progress.

Mine was a huge failure, and so I took it off the wheel and I’m going to start again.

Friday night was the awards dinner, which wasn’t bad foodwise, but the after dinner entertainment was wonderful. They had Jon Schmidt come play for us. My favorite was his Pachelbel meets U2 piece. In high school, two friends of mine were going to play Canon for a competition, and I was their page turner. So I grew to love that song.

 

P.S. Steve is his chello/kick drum guy he plays with.

On Saturday we took another class from Lacey about muffins, then we went to make paracord bracelets. My favorite part of the day was Twila’s authentic Mexican cooking class. Her husband, Jose, is an amazing cook. His tamales are the only ones I’ve ever liked. The best part of the class was learning to make churros. I didn’t realize they were so easy! I wish I had taken pictures of all the delicious foods, but like my shirt class, I was too busy participating to remember.

I’ll just have to take pictures when I make some churros and tamales. Which will be right after I make cheesecake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

2 responses »

  1. I so want to learn how to do this! You have to teach me sometime!

    Reply
    • The rug? I’ll have to have my mom teach me first. 🙂 You’ll need a bicycle rim without spokes. They’ll look at you funny, but you can get them from a cycle shop. Much easier than trying to remove the spokes yourself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

