RSS Feed

Dinosaurs…in Space!

Posted on

Procrastination is the mother of invention. Which is how my Project Selvage entry came into being. I wasn’t really feeling my initial idea of tools/trucks; just couldn’t bring myself to draw them. Then K was telling me about some new paper at Micheal’s called Boys will be Boys. It had dinosaurs, cowboys, indians, that sort of thing. Then dinosaurs in space just popped into my head. Robots and aliens have had their day in space, but not dinosaurs.

I then searched the Spoonflower and Micheal Miller websites and found no space-fairing dinosaurs, so I was pretty sure I had something ‘new’. The inspiration is 50s and 60s spaceships and retro animation styles. Then mix that up with dinosaurs.

I’m pretty pleased how it turned out. I finished it about 20 minutes before the deadline. I’m not sure why I cut things so close sometimes. Increases the motivation to get it done I guess. I really hope I make it through to the top 75, and maybe even beyond that. I would love to see my designs on fabric, and to see what people make with it.

About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

6 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh I love this!

    Reply
  2. My favorite is the stegosaurus!

    Reply
  3. Interesting combo. Hope you make it into the 75. This would be fun to play with.

    Reply
  4. I like the jet packs! This is the best !!!!!!!! you will defenetly win! you should send a pic to kim have her vote.

    Reply
  5. I can see this as both wrapping paper for boys, and wallpaper. In fact, my boys would LOVE this as wallpaper, since they love BOTH things. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

