RSS Feed

Chocolate Molten Cupcake

Posted on

I love Olive Garden’s lava cake, so very much. I never made them at home because I didn’t have any ramekins. It never occurred to me to use a cupcake tin until I stumbled on this recipe. There are so many recipes for lava cake, so I think I’m going to have to try a bunch before I decide on a favorite recipe. But these were quite good.

The recipe does say that these are easy to over cook. That is a true statement. Sadly I cooked mine too long, so they lacked the warm gooey, innards that I love about this cake.

But overcooking them isn’t the end of the world. You just get a super moist cake. (So hard to type that sentence, I loathe the word moist.) I didn’t use cupcake liners because I wanted them to look like normal lava cake. And I wanted to test the powers of our new cooking spray.

Lacey, the chef from our cheesecake class, told us this is the best cooking spray in the world. She’s had her 21 oz. can for years and it is only half empty. It really is amazing. All the cakes came out perfectly, and I didn’t even need to shake the pan. And the spray doesn’t smell really bad like others do. It may seem expensive, but since it will last you for about the rest of your life, it is really worth it.

Recipe: (from pembrokegourmet on Instructables)

Ingredients:
5 eggs
2 tablespoons of flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
250 grams extra-dark chocolate
1 pinch salt

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Melt butter and chocolate together in a water-bath.

In a separate bowl, mix eggs and sugar until sugar is dissolved.
Add in pinch of salt and mix until dissolved.

Mix butter-chocolate and egg mixture together.

Slowly add flour in through a sift while continuously mixing.

Pour mixture about 3/4 full into a ramequin or cupcake holder.

Put in oven for approximately 15 minutes (though keep an eye on it, these are extremely easy to over-cook!)

When cooked, place on a tray. Serve with chocolate syrup and vanilla ice cream.

About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

Leave a Reply

