RSS Feed

Mexico Quilt

Posted on

We have a fundraiser for the Mexico trip coming up and I was thinking of making a small quilted wall hanging for the auction we will doing. The women in Chiapas make amazing fabrics and I thought it would be fun to try to capture the color and patterns of their work.

Photo found at Americazoom

Photo found at art for housewives.

In addition to weaving, they also do machine and hand embroidery that is just as amazing.

Hand embroidered eyeglass cases found at Mexico Cooks

Embroidered tunic found at takaramo

I found a random square pattern generator on the internet that is a lot of fun to play with. It allows you to save patterns you like, and it randomly made one that looked like flowers. Flowers are a common element in their embroidery, and I felt it also captured the feeling of their weaving.

I don’t know if I will do quite that many blocks since I only have a month to work on it, and I don’t want to make it too complicated. We have a lot of scraps of fabric around, so I think I will just use those and make each flower a bit different.

About WheatieBee

My name is Amy, and I love all things designish and crafty. I also love unraveling sweaters, Cadbury's chocolate, and squirrels.

One response »

  1. Do one like the first one with quarter square triangles. That would be fun and not so complicated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

